Family

We are the clay, you are the potter

It hits you in the must unpredictable moments.  I was going through my phone to text someone and saw my Aunt’s phone number in there.  It is like a roller coaster ride.  Do you delete the number or just keep it there?  Such a strange and sad feeling.  My Mom and I went to England just this past February to see my Aunt.  It also happened to be a visit that happened during her last birthday.  While we were there, she did have to spend some time in hospice.  A great example of how tough she was…she was a crocheting machine.  I am sure it was a hobby that helped keep her mind distracted from the pain and emotion of what she was going through.

The blanket in this picture was crocheted by my Aunt Angie this year (my Mom was helping to stitch the patches together).  In hospice, my Mom brought the blanket in so my Aunt could see the progress as she kept making more squares for it.

My Mom told me yesterday that my Aunt was a very private person.  Maybe I should not share what she went through?  Just a few weeks back, Adam and I did the Kick it 5K for pancreatic cancer research.  It was for a local foundation (Kosten) that supports research but also help/healing for those stricken with the disease and their families.

I didn’t realize how many people we knew (not only in Memphis) but through my Facebook friends that have been impacted by pancreatic cancer.  So is sharing a bad thing?  I think it creates a network of people who can understand and help one another when faced with something like this.

When I was christened back in 1989, my Auntie Angie and Uncle Chris gave me a bible.  I went today and turned to it just randomly and it opened to Isaiah 64:8

Yet, O Lord, you are our Father.  We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand.

RIP Auntie Angie.  I hope you are in a better place that is pain free and continued to be surrounded by love.  You will be missed.

Leave a Reply

